A few days in Belgium

I don’t know about anyone else, but I try to squeeze every little possible activity in when I travel. I was going to Bruges for the weekend but the train stopped in Brussels. So why not spend 24 hours in Brussels?!

While 24 hours isn’t exactly a lengthy trip, it is just enough time to get a taste of a small city like Brussels. If you arrive super early in the morning, you can easily make your way through the majority of city streets, have a coffee and visit several churches. I even took a few hours to indulge in some comics.

IMG_8072

Brussels is basically a hub for banne designee (or comics). As you walk through the city streets, you can quickly stumble upon giant street art devoted to different famous comic strips. The Belgian Centre for Comic Strip Art (Centre Belge de la Bande Dessinée or Belgisch Centrum van het Beeldverhaal), is the place to visit it you’d like to explore the comic strip as an art form.  I spent a good two hours going through the hip museum learning all about the evolution of comic books and even took a few selfies with les strumfs (the smurfs!)

IMG_8088

The day flew by and I was more than happy to grab my train to Bruges. My feet weren’t used to the amount of city walking I did. My stomach however was on a much happier level if exhaustion.

All I can say is waffles, waffles and more waffles. While Belgium chocolate is a famous luxury, I am all about the waffles. I basically ate a waffle every day and my favorite came out of a waffle truck. It’s a food truck that only makes WAFFLES.

Bruges is technically known more for the Michelin stared restos then killer food trucks. I like to think I had the best of both worlds while visiting. I decided to drop some major dimes specifically on food. To make up for my limited budget, I evened it out by doing very cheap or even free activities.

Being a former tour guide, I love taking city tours. In Bruges, I stumbled upon a free walking tour that had a really devoted local pouring out some great info and amusing anecdotes. I spent nearly three hours with the group. Afterwards I completely knew my way around the tiny city.

To anyone who is planing on visiting Bruges, note that it is a really -I mean a really small city. Unless you are there as a couple and have planned some serious sexy time, you should be able to see everything in the city relatively quickly. I actually went to Belgium alone. So snoozing around my hotel *cough* hostel (never forget that tight budget) was not really an option. So I asked at the front desk about renting a bike.

IMG_8150

Like Amsterdam, Bruges is very biker friendly. The neighboring towns are just a few kilometers away via an extremely flat road, which has a designated bike lane. Taking a little visit around the countryside of Belgium on a cruiser bike was right up my ally. I am always down for some cycling. So I did an unplanned bike ride and it was marvelous. I saw little boats, fat cows and a lot of windmills. If you get sick of all the touristy stuff, take a mini adventure within your holiday and take yourself off the beaten track.  You’ll appreciate the “me time”.

If you don’t have the time to wander through Belgium, how about cycling around Amsterdam? Get great traveling tips and hear about my experiences all over Europe via my monthly newsletter. Sign up today!

Leave a Reply

