Brassens

tuleries

The rain has yet to let up in Paris. As I sit and fold laundry I can see rain drops slide down the windowsill. This afternoon I was in search of a little corner of paradise to brighten up the day. How to escape time: music. A french favorite would have to be Brassens.

Brassens

George Brassens is one if the most well known french singer/song writer/poets. Every single french person knows his name and holds his music close tho their hearts. He created a very unique style of song sculpted by simple melodies and anarchist-minded lyrics.

I was introduced to Brassens by a professor of mine. Being a poet, Brassens’s diction is very clear and he pronunciates words with such class. I was told he is the best artist to listen to in order to improve my french accent. The very first song of his I ever heard was, parapluie.

I did in fact spend a lot of time trying to understand the rhythm in which he speaks. I was more the lyrics and the story which really got me hooked. A man seeing a young girl caught in the rain and he offers her some shelter under her umbrella. She excepts and he immediately falls head over heals in love or as the french say, coup de foudre. A small rain shower has brought him a small corner of paradise.

When the fog rolls in and the rain starts to shower down find your inner Parisian and play some Brassens. He will pull you away from the gloominess through light-hearted music. He definitely brightened up my afternoon!

Leave a Reply

